May 3, 2017

 

I pledge allegiance to the Truth

In its myriad manifestations,

And to the endeavors through which it’s found

(Who what when where why and how),

Irrepressible,

With facts, knowledge, and wisdom for all.

 

I pledge allegiance to the World

And its connected system of biomes,

And to its inhabitants across the globe,

Human and non-human,

Inextricably

Bound in dependence, one and all.

 

I pledge allegiance to the Birds

Of North, Central, and South America,

And to their migrations over sea and land,

Alone or in a flock,

So adaptable,

Their flight an example to us all.

 

I pledge allegiance to my Cats

Who are united in curmudgeonliness,

And to their repulsive habits I’ve learned to stand,

Litter, barfing, furballs,

Incorrigible,

With no dignity or artifice at all.

 

I pledge allegiance to the Sox,

The New Englander’s irrational passion,

And to Fenway Park where they play their games,

New stories unfolding

Annually,

With double plays and home runs for all.

 

I pledge allegiance to the Words

In every book that has ever been written,

And to the things they help me understand,

One author at a time

Engaging with me,

Partners in comprehending it all.

 

I pledge allegiance to Equations

Those powerful engines of algebra,

And to the reasoning they demand,

One answer, sometimes more,

Solving our problems,

Accessible and useful to all.

 

I pledge allegiance to my Students

Of every age, whatever their challenges,

And to the vulnerable selves they share,

Each question, each insight,

Confidence-building,

With courage and learning for all.

 

I pledge allegiance to my Family,

A united force for love, support, and growth,

And to the uniqueness we each command

In service of wisdom,

Acting with principle

And joyful appreciation of all.

 

I pledge allegiance to my Friends

Who inspire me every day to improve,

And to the loyalty they offer, and

The way they lead their lives,

Exemplifying

The everyday contributions of all.

 

I pledge allegiance to the Concept

Of the United States of America,

Because a concept wielded wisely

Can better the whole world,

If vigilantly

Nurtured and protected by us all.

 

